The Irish National War Memorial Committee was founded in the summer of 1919. Its first President was the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, Field-Marshal Viscount French of Ypres (who gave the first donation to the Committee of £100) following a meeting held in the Vice Regal Lodge. By Aug 1919 the Committee fund stood at just over £13,000. The office was originally at 52 Dawson Street, Dublin but later moved to 102 Grafton Street, Dublin.
The Committee under such high profile and dedicated public servants as Sir Andrew Jameson eventually contracted Sir Edward Lutyens to design a War Memorial Gardens at Longmeadows, Islandbridge, Dublin which now stands as one of the finest such Memorials in Europe.
Ref. The Irish Times, 30 Aug 1919, p.5. There are 28 Folders largely containing correspondence, and a small number of legal documents such as Counsel Opinions. Much of the correspondence was generated by Miss Hermione G. Wilson (later Mrs. Lytton-Wilson) who was Secretary to the Committee.
The Irish National War Memorial Committee Archive was donated to the Royal Dublin Fusiliers Association by the Royal British Legion, Republic of Ireland Branch. This donation was facilitated by Patrick Hugh Lynch, historian of The Irish Soldiers and Sailors’ Land Trust. The collection is held with the RDFA Archive at Dublin City Library & Archive, 138-144 Pearse Street, Dublin 2.